The Frozen Lake

I ambled by the frozen lake,
watched the shadows flit at daybreak,
heard slow lonely cries of the Rook,
it wonders which crannies to look.

The seasons come and then they take,
I ambled by the frozen lake,
the forest dies and lives again,
to succumb and subdue Snow’s reign.

A flock of swans, they swim as Yang,
waters inky in which they sang,
I ambled by the frozen lake,
still dark dreaming when I’m awake.

The Loch summons me to its lair
frigid fingers warn of its snare,
my joints they curse and then they ache,
I ambled by the frozen lake.

~AJ

Leave a Reply

