The Wait

I await the storm by the bay,
parlous one turning the skies grey,
mighty intense force born at sea,
disregarding our silent plea.

Steadily approaching our way,
I await the storm by the bay,
distinctive scent of salt and rage,
wafts by the oblivious plage.

shops are shut and the boats are moored,
for aeons our folk have endured,
I await the storm by the bay,
till the pier begins to sway

fleeting moments of life and death,
ephemeral memories’ breath,
I will welcome the blue today,
I await the storm by the bay.

 ~AJ

Leave a Reply

